The Mandel School provides numerous scholarship opportunities for students. There is no separate
application, but students must meet the criteria outlined below.

All full-time students are considered for merit scholarships and students need to apply for
admission by February 1 of each year to be considered. The same criteria we use for admissions is
used to determine decisions for scholarship funding.

The Mandel School in the Community

  • A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.
  • Evidence of the capacity to succeed in a graduate-level social work program based on
    undergraduate work and any previous graduate work. This includes courses in the social and
    behavioral sciences that would ensure the applicant’s ability to demonstrate creditable work at the
    graduate level.
  • Evidence of a combination of personal qualities and values that are considered essential for
    the professional practice of social work: strong moral character; strong analytical and
    communication skills; a caring and compassionate nature; and a personal commitment to social
    justice, empowering individuals, and serving vulnerable and under-represented groups.
Types of Scholarships

Scholarships are made available through the generosity of alumni, friends and organizations that
support MSASS. For a full description of scholarships, please visit the following web pages:

Donors and Friends of MSASS

Our scholarship program would not be possible without the generous support of our friends and

Adell and Edward Newby

Anna S. Fritz

Armin and Gisella Gross Family

Art and Amy Lifson

Curtis and Roberta Wooten

Dorothy and Robert Kimmel

Eleanor R. Gerson

Elizabeth M. and William C. Treuhaft

Evangeline S. Hyett

Evelyn Moreida Krislov

Frank J. and Catherine B. Hertel

Grace Coyle

Grace H. Chellam

Harold C. Schott

Herbert Luria

Helen and Jerry Daube

Helene Parry and Darlyne Bailey

Henry and Audrey Schumacher

Howard R. Berger

Irene Sogg Gross

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Foundation

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School Alumni Association

Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School Endowment Fund

John A. Yankey

Jene M. Halpert

JCF in honor of Howard Berger

Lilly Scholarship

Louis Stokes

Marion Houghtelin Hart

Mary Annette Soderberg

Maurice and Nina Fields

Mildred S. Higley

Nancy Lyon Porter

Norma C.and Albert I. Geller

Rita Riley Gross

Ronald A. Stewart

Ruth and Alfred Melcher/Mildred Walker

Ruth E. Mason

Ruth M. Werner

Samuel T. Haas

Virginia Bayer Jaffe

William Brewster McKenna


The Yellow Ribbon Program gives eligible veterans and their dependents the opportunity to attend
college and other approved training programs. The Mandel School and the Veterans Administration cover tuition
and fees for Yellow Ribbon participants during each academic term.
Learn more.

Campus Map     Contact Us     Parking Info     Student Resources     Faculty Resources     Site Map