With more than 7,800 alumni in all 50 states and 41 countries, our extensive alumni network is a force for positive social change throughout the world and right here at the Mandel School through their generous involvement and leadership.

The compassion and commitment of our alumni is essential to the advancement of our school and the lives our students – from their work on the Alumni Board (which works diligently to organize and participate in Career Nights, Commencement, and other student events) to the Campaign Committee (which is leading the fundraising for our Building Renovation Campaign) to alumni support of the Annual Fund (which is earmarked entirely for student scholarships).

Alumni in the News:

Building Community: Centennial Salon Series on September 16

Sep 8 2015

Neighborhood revitalizationAlumni, students and community revitalization professionals are invited to “Building Community for Neighborhood Revitalization,” an evening of conversation and networking with Assistant Professor Mark Chupp and hosted by Maria J. Thompson, MSSA, on Wednesday, September 16, at 5:30 p.m. at the Cleveland Restoration Society (Sarah Benedict House) at 3751 Prospect Avenue in Cleveland.

Heavy appetizers will be served. This event is sponsored by Third Federal Savings & Loan and is part of the Centennial Salon Series, which are informal and informative discussions bringing together alumni, faculty and friends.

To attend, please contact Marianne Lax by September 11 at Marianne.Lax@case.edu or 216.368.1832.

Centennial Speaker Series: “Serving Veterans: Research and Policy” on September 30

Sep 7 2015

veterans-bootsThe Centennial Speaker Series kicks off with the first Research & Training Colloquium of the 2015-2016 school year, Serving Veterans: Research and Policy, at 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. EST on Wednesday, September 30, in room #115 of the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Community Studies Center at 11402 Bellflower Road on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. There will be a reception following this free event.

Two CEUs are available ($10 alumni; $25 non-alumni).


Sponsored by the Mandel School’s Office of Research Administration and the Doctoral Program, this year’s Research & Training Colloquia are “Featuring Our Own,” spotlighting speakers from the school’s doctoral and master’s alumni. For “Serving Veterans: Research and Policy” on September 30, the topics and speakers are:

Mark ChapinResearch on Military Families and Deployment: Hero Stories and Horror Stories” presented by Mark Chapin, MSW, PhD 1995, LISW, BCD, who serves at the Team Leader at the U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs’ Annapolis Vet Center, where he specializes in addiction, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), marital/family therapy, mind-body medicine and community outreach. Dr. Chapin will address how for the last 14 years, families of military members have experienced deployment into the combat zones of Afghanistan and Iraq as a “normative crisis,” which most military families will experience at least once if not several times.  His presentation will discuss how McCubbin’s model of family resilience can be applied to research on the unique stressors and adaptations that families make during three phases of deployment. Dr. Chapin earned his PhD at the Mandel School and his MSW from the University of Maryland.

Lisa PapePolicy Perspectives on Serving Homeless Veterans” presented by Lisa M. Pape, MSSA 1990, LISW, who is the Executive Director of the VHA Homeless Programs Office for the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) within the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). Ms. Pape’s focus is on operationalizing plans and approaches designed to most effectively meet the needs of the nation’s veterans who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless. She will address how the VA has made ending veteran homelessness a top priority and has undertaken an unprecedented campaign to dramatically increase successful outcomes for veterans and their families. She will also discuss the importance and influential impact that research has on the implementation of policies.

This event will be live streamed. If you’d like to attend via live stream, click the remote access option when registering and you will be provided a link as the date approaches. No CEUs are available for people who attend via live stream.

Mandel School students receive two professional development hours for attending (online students who watch via livestream can receive 2 PD hours by submitting a brief summary to their field adviser). On-campus students can also visit with the speakers at 1:00 p.m. prior the colloquia for “Advice From Mandel School Alumni,” an informal session in the Mandel Center Lounge.

Please be sure to explore our other Centennial Speaker Series events:

Addiction Recovery on November 4

Cultural Competency: Training and Program Evaluation on March 18

Aging Well: Research and Services on April 8

Workshop on Research Ethics on April 22


Watch: Conversations in Philanthropy 2015

Jul 22 2015

Conversations 224 21Cleveland claims a historic role in the philanthropic sector, as home to the world’s first community foundation and the precursor to the United Way movement.

But how has the landscape of the philanthropic sector changed in the past 100 years? What is its relevance to social change? And what do practitioners bring to philanthropy?

Those were questions addressed at Conversations in Philanthropy, a special series last spring that gathered philanthropic experts from the area’s top foundations and organizations – including several alumni – to share their insights and answer questions from the audience. It was sponsored by the Master of Nonprofit Organizations program with input from the Mandel School Visiting Committee and moderated by Robert L. Fischer, PhD, Director of the MNO Program and Co-Director of the Poverty Center.

Conversations in Philanthropy 2015:

Understanding Philanthropy: What You Need To Know About the Field on February 24, 2015, featured Marcia Egbert, JD, Senior Program Officer at the George Gund Foundation, and John Gest, MBA 2010, Managing Director of the Northern Ohio Office of Philanthropy Ohio (pictured with Dr. Fischer). Watch video >>

From Program Operator of Program Officer: What Practitioners Bring to the World of Philanthropy on March 24, 2015, featured Shilpa Kedar, MNO 2005, Program Director of Economic Development and The Cleveland Foundation, and Christie Manning, MSSA 1997, Senior Program Officer for Resilient Families at St. Luke’s Foundation. Watch video >>

Philanthropy is a Big Tent: Making Philanthropy Part of Your Lifelong Commitment on April 28, 2015, featured Leah Gary, MSN 1985, President and CEO of the William J. and Dorothy K. O’Neill Foundation and Jazmin Long, MSSA/MNO 2015, Welcoming Coordinator at Global Cleveland. Watch video >>